The National Masters Racquetball Association was established in 1971, when ten players* gathered in New Castle, Pennsylvania for a fun, round-robin event. It was the first national tournament exclusively for racquetball players in the 45-and-over age groups, and the specialty circuit continued to flourish in the decades after its founding.

No more “one and done” … With its expanded playoff format and the addition of 40+ athletes, today the member roster continues to grow and increasing numbers of entrants are fielded into each of three annual championships. An NMRA National Championship is scheduled in March, an NMRA International Championship takes place in July, and an NMRA Doubles Only Championship is offered in December – all with an emphasis on fun, friendship and great sportsmanship.

In addition, the NMRA is a 501(c)3 non-profit dedicated to the future of the sport through charitable giving, scholarship awards, community support, and quality competition for all men and women players over the age of 40.

Membership is open to anyone who shares these goals – whether or not you are currently an active tournament player – and we welcome you to the unique experience that is Masters Racquetball.

*The original ten founding enthusiasts were: Ivan Bruner, Sam Caiazza, Earl Dixon, Dr. Ray DuPue, Gene Grapes, Chet Howard, Dr. Bud Muehleisen, Dr. Hal Price, Dr. Bill Sellers, and Joe Zelson.